Who Knew?

White Ox at Siena by John Singer Sargent
(Source: WikiPaintings)

Did you know that an ox is a castrated bull? You did? Geez, I guess I wasn’t paying attention the day they covered that. I always thought oxen were their own breed of animal.

Huh.

Makes sense, I guess. Still, it makes gives me pause. Is a buffalo really a cow born with a deformity? And what about a water buffalo? Is that a cow with a drinking problem?

You make your way through life with all these preconceived notions, certain of your understanding about the nature of things.  And then one day, wham. You discover that an ox (mighty though he is) is just a very unhappy boy cow.

It makes you wonder what other incorrect beliefs are clouding your thinking.

This entry was posted in Musing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Who Knew?

  1. siggiofmaine says:

    Patti…
    I’m with you…it seems almost every day, something pops up that isn’t what I thought it was.
    Am at a loss for what the recent one was for me…it’s late and the synapses have gone to bed ahead of me. Oh, yes, I didn’t know that peacocks have a homing mechanism in their brain so they will return to their birthplace if given half a chance…they can fly, … boggles the mind.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    • Patti says:

      Hi, Siggi. Nice to see you! And, see, there’s another one. I didn’t know that about peacocks. Imagine a peacock in flight… I did know that when they capture a bear too close to civilization — like, say, in a housing development — and take him back out to the woods, he’ll travel 100 miles to go back, if he considers that development home. I guess “home” is important to most of earth’s creatures. 🙂

  2. shewritesherenow says:

    I had no idea. But most of my preconceived notions have been proven wrong or flawed eventually. I think I’m getting used to it :)!

  3. Pretty important post. We should all really think about what we think is true!

    • Patti says:

      Thanks, kind mouse. I agree. It reminds me of something my oldest friend (from high school!) says: “Don’t confuse me with the facts. I know what I want to believe.” Those words are so appropriate right now.

Leave a Reply

