Temporary Permanence

I think I would be a bit worried were I married by my Uncle Joe. I mean, the words “I now pronounce you…” coming from a total buffoon don’t carry the weight of happily-ever-after with them, somehow.

It’s all the rage now.  Many states will grant just about anyone Justice-of-the-Peace-for-a-Day status.  Is that kind of like Queen-for-a-Day, do you suppose?  Will the title of Husband or Wife (complete with license) granted by Uncle Joe last longer than the knighthood of Sir Whosis (complete with certificate) bestowed by that Queen-for-a-Day?  I guess it must, because the marriage license Uncle Joe will fill out in his own gnarly hand says so right on it.

 THIS IS A PERMANENT RECORD. Use only durable black ink.

(Emphasis theirs)

Still, I’d be worried…

 

This entry was posted in Musing. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Temporary Permanence

  1. souldipper says:

    PattiKen – this is a durability race between ink and hour! Oh my.

  2. Titanium says:

    Welll…. I guess I have to weigh in on this one. The state of Alaska allows each adult resident to be licensed as a marriage commissioner once in their lifetime. The custom dates back to the territory days (not so long ago) when an actual JP was next to impossible to reach, for most folks.

    When Jeff and I got married, I was privileged to retain the services of my best friend, matron of honor and marriage commissioner all-in-one… yep. PJ did the honors for us, I wrote the wedding vows, and we had a whole 12 people present at our little ceremony. So far, I’ve been quite pleased with the results.

    First of all, not a single relative attended. Secondly, we rented a small conference room with a fireplace at a lovely hotel and avoided any spectre of religion. Most importantly? We did the whole thing OUR way, from start to finish (actually referring to the relationship, but the ceremony reflected the same sentiment).

    Different strokes for different folks, but I do think there should be more consideration given to that which colors outside the lines. By no means is a wedding a marriage, but if you watched the horrors of the standard bridal preparation for a single day in the life of two people- one might be led to think that one day is all that mattered.

  3. I didn’t quite get this. I couldn’t read the writing on the certificate and what you’re saying is just kind of kooky for a marriage- justice of the peace for a day? And it’s official? Sigh.

  4. My husband and I made our vows to each other when we were alone. Later, for the sake of civil law, we did it again in a small church, with five people, including the priest. It was nice to wear a long dress and carry flowers, but my heart always felt the real wedding was the first one – just between us. I honestly don’t think it matters how or who “marries” people. It is what is in their hearts that binds them.

    • PattiKen says:

      I sent this response offline to my good friend Ti, who also stepped outside the box. Forgive me, Ti, but I’m going to restate it here. I’m very much in favor of custom-fit weddings. So many traditional weddings these days seem to be more about extravaganza and less about the moment between bride and groom.

      Actually, my daughter was married by her brother at an old inn and he was married by his best friend in a tiny non-denominational chapel-like room at a hotel. Neither were religious ceremonies, and like you, they both wrote their own vows. The weddings were both intimate and delightful affairs. I’m glad they invited family, though… 😉

      In keeping with the “outside-the-box” motif, my daughter was walked down the aisle by her father and her step-father (my husband), one on each arm. But it doesn’t end there… She was eight months pregnant, enormous, and decked out in a traditional white gown (altered to accommodate) and veil. With a tuxedo-clad dad on each arm, She looked like the Queen Mary being steered into port by two black tugboats.

      My husband and I recently had to get a copy of our marriage certificate, and when I was looking at it, the emphasis on “durable black ink” got me going.

  5. P.S. This is, by the way, a very interesting subject to bring up. I can’t wait to read other people’s comments!

  6. states do pretty goofy things these days to make a little income.

  7. Jamie Dedes says:

    Me too! That’s so very odd …

    • Patti says:

      It’d be nice if durability and permanence were as easy as the using the right paper and ink, but alas… I’ve been wondering if having a loved one perform the ceremony might not have a more positive effect on the longevity of the marriage.

Leave a Reply

