Penny wise, pound foolish?

Let me help you,
she says.
My wind is powerful,
My sun energetic,
My tides inexorable.

Aw, thanks, Mom,
we say.
That’s real nice of you.
But we just can’t afford it.

AP Photo

*****************

Written for Sunday 160, hosted by Monkey Man here.

This entry was posted in Musing. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Penny wise, pound foolish?

  1. Alice Audrey says:

    Deep. I get the feeling I’m not even getting all of it.

  2. Rachel says:

    Wow, I was just thinking about this yesterday, as I saw the haze build over a sunny downtown in my city. Remember when sunny days were crisp and clean?

    Thought provoking!

    • PattiKen says:

      I know just what you mean. I was so shocked when I visited Albuquerque a couple of years ago. We drove in, and as we came over the mountain road leading down to the city, everything below was covered in thick yellow soup. I always thought of Albuquerque as “high desert,” up there where the air is clean and bright…

  3. Tara R. says:

    Like any parent, Mom would help us if we let Her.

  4. brian says:

    ok, trying to piece this one together patti…to me it speaks of the leaving of ones parents, but then the picture completely throws me off…of course the gass mask made me think of flatulence…which added a whole new layer of meaning…air pollution and all…which led to environmentalism…and…

  5. souldipper says:

    Yes, Mother Earth is ready, willing and able and we keep rejecting her help. And, sadly, it’s all about money. What a great poem, PattiKen! It needs to become our mantra!

    • PattiKen says:

      Nice to see you, Amy. Thank you for your nice comment. You are so right. I suspect that if we drill deep enough (so to speak), we’d find that many pockets are involved, some in places not immediately obvious.

  6. happygirl says:

    Nature, right? I KNOW we can’t afford it.

  7. Monkey Man says:

    This is so powerful. She give so much and like spoiled little children with no gratitude we just ask for more. Great 160, Patty. Thanks for playing.

  8. Comparing humans to teens who love their Mom but don’t take her seriously – take her for granted even – that’s clever and, well, brilliant! How true it is.

  9. Gosh this poem could go in so many directions, we can’t afford to not look after her. A thinking verse I like that!

  10. claudia says:

    so mother earth wants to help out with her resources…and we continue to build nuclear power plants…for the moment it IS cheaper – but we’re paying a high price for it…great one patti

  11. Why does this poem make me think of Captain Planet and yes Mother Earth always gives us what we need but the greed in humans sur-passes all the love and nurturing we already have and so man keeps destroying and polluting, sad as it is there’re solutions to this if only people put their minds together and worked together to keep a healthy environment. Lovely write my dear friend Patti and i missed you! Sorry i have been away still traveling a bit for business and pleasure…so i come and go. You’re welcome to stop by whenever you can even if am not there but i did leave a little note to keep you knowing you’re in mind -:)

    Love and hugs

    Wild Rose~

  12. moondustwriter says:

    Can I borrow one plz??? I’m suffering from pneumonia and asthma right now because of our purely noxious air

    Good to see you around more – and then I’ve not been ( around)

  13. Jamie Dedes says:

    Clever! I like it.

Leave a Reply

