Begs the Question

I’ve always considered National Geographic to be, you know, a serious publication.  A recent news item reported NG’s latest feat: lifting a house 10,000 feet into the air, à la the movie Up.  The 16’x16’ house stayed in the air for over an hour.

Seriously?

Can’t wait for the sequel.  Think they’ll call it Down?

 

************************************************

This was written for Friday Flash 55, hosted here by my good friend and favorite nag, G-Man.

 

This entry was posted in Friday Flash 55, Musing. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Begs the Question

  1. brian says:

    wow…that is crazy…what happens if a flock of sharp beaked birds fly through!!!

    • PattiKen says:

      Yeah, huh? Or some Piper Cub pilot who’s not paying attention. I can just see it now. “Really, Mr. Allstate, I was hit mid-air by a house. Really…”

  2. G-Man says:

    Nag? NAG?
    Well…..I’ve been called Much Worse!
    Coming from you Patti…It’s an Honor!!
    I Love Stupid Idea 55’s
    Thanks for passing that along.
    I’m so tickled that you have returned to the Friday Funfest…:-)
    Thanks for playing, and have a Kick Ass Week-End

  3. That was most uplifting 😉

  4. Belinda says:

    That’s wild! Always interesting when animation inspires reality (though I wonder how often that happens…). High-flying 55.

    • PattiKen says:

      Hi, Belinda. I bet it happens more often than we’d like to believe. I’ve known many characters who acted like they just stepped out of a Flintstones cartoon…

  5. Crazy! How did they get it down without it falling out of control or hitting something?

  6. Mattison says:

    Ha! “Think they’ll call it Down?” Funny. Great 55!

  7. Tara R. says:

    I’m not a scientist, but I hypothesize that it will take considerably less time for the house to come DOWN, than it did to stay UP.

  8. Jingle says:

    fun facts, love the images..

    another comment disappeared, check your comments..

  9. Titanium says:

    Good one, Patti! I think the sequel could be titled “look, ya’ll, watch this….”

  10. dustus says:

    NG raises the roof instead of the bar 😉

  11. Mama Zen says:

    My daughter saw this on television. I fear that she may insist on giving it a try herself!

    • PattiKen says:

      Yikes. If she tries it, Mama Z, RUN! 😉

      Oh, wait, do mean on herself? Hmmm… Well, there were times in my mothering experience when… No, no, we won’t go there.

  12. Olivia says:

    haha- Can they take some weight? I would have loved to jump in!!
    They won’t need the passport for this- would they??

    Thanks for the nice one on my site- 🙂
    weekend Hugs xx

  13. Kavita says:

    hahahahah… this is awesome, Patti!! I think I am gotta try flying some kites now… I’ve heard that those kite cords are very sharp.. and can cut other cords! Am curious who’ll win then!! 😉

    Hats off to NatGeo for being a rising star.. and to YOU for letting us know! 🙂
    xoxox

  14. PattiKen says:

    “Rising star” – ha, good one, Kavita.

  15. Doctor FTSE says:

    Now that’s a wholly original way of doing a “moonlight flit”!

  16. Jamie Dedes says:

    Pretty and pointless! Ha! Good catch, Patti.

  17. Patti says:

    And from National Geographic! Go figure.

Leave a Reply

