Three Wishes

I’ve been thinking a bit about genies lately. In fact, I’ll be posting a piece on my other blog, Pattiken and the Muses called Genie-ology Tuesday afternoon.  With all this musing about genies, it’s not surprising that my thoughts wandered to three wishes. Were a magic lamp to fall into my lap, what would I choose as my three wishes?

Not an easy question. There are so many things that crossed my mind, and yours, too, I suspect, because we are somewhat predictable as human beings programmed by our culture and life experience.  Health, wealth, success, security, beauty, brains… all are things we’ve been programmed to desire.  They all probably fall somewhere along Maslow’s hierarchy.

Once you’ve satisfied the foundation of that hierarchy of needs, and move toward the pinnacle, your wishes may turn more fanciful:  a midnight blue Maserati, a pied-à-terre in Paris (and since we are creative people, let’s make it a garret on the Left Bank), a best seller, a size 10 wardrobe that actually fits, to be 25 again but with all the wisdom gained in the years since, the metabolism to eat anything without gaining weight, smaller feet, and what the hell, as long as we’re being fanciful, a date with George Clooney.

I can just hear the genie (who for some bizarre reason sounds like Jerry Lewis) now: “Hey,
l-a-a-a-d-y, that’s way too many. You only get three wishes, you know.”

What a dilemma.  Well, I’ve given this a lot of thought (because you never know when that lamp may come your way and you want to be ready, don’t you know) and I think I’ve come up with the perfect three wishes.  So, Genie, if you’re listening, may I please have these:

A Transporter, a Replicator and a Holodeck

If you are over the age of ten and have been paying attention, you know what those things are.   And if you think about it, you’ll see why I think those would be the perfect things to have.  (If you’ve been dozing for the past 30 years or so and don’t know what they are, ‘Google’ them.  Wikipedia will tell you all about it. )

Yeah, those are my three wishes. (sigh)

How about you?  Got your order ready, just in case?

This entry was posted in Musing. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Three Wishes

  1. Neva Flores says:

    I love your wishes, I want those too!!

  2. souldipper says:

    Patti, you are a woman after my own heart. I’m older than you and know what those three things are! Only thing is…I call transporters “teleporters” – not for any reason. I’d take a trip with any one of those no matter its name!

    • PattiKen says:

      The one that really interests me is the replicator. Imagine this gizmo in the kitchen. You push a button and say, I’d like escargots, boeuf bourgignon, crepes suzettes, and oh, add the amuse bouche of your choice, Ramsay” (because I would have to name my gizmo, of course). And out pops the perfect meal, with the perfect nutrition and calorie count. Ah, heaven.

      And, my friend, unless you’ve used an old picture, I don’t think you are all that much older than I. 🙂

  3. JeffScape says:

    Anybody “over 10” knows that you just wasted two wishes, since all three of the things you mention operate on the same technological principle. Duh.

    😉

    • PattiKen says:

      OK, you must be too young. “Technological principal” notwithstanding, a transporter is SO not the same thing as a replicator, nor does it do the same thing. One might make the argue that the holodeck could produce the perfect, nutritionally balanced meal, but who wants to eat every meal on the holodeck? The replicator makes a meal you can take anywhere. Like with you when you transport to your friend’s house on the other coast. Now for the date with Johnny Depp? The holodeck wins, hands down.

  4. Artswebshow says:

    That’s star trek.
    I used to watch these as a kid. lol
    My three wishes.
    .
    Someone i can trust with my life in my life.
    The best singing voice ever gifted.
    The Richard North freestyle arts academy.
    .
    I bet that wasn’t what you were expecting. lol

    • PattiKen says:

      You’re right, it’s not.

      I’m guessing that you are probably out of luck with the singing voice, Richard, unless you already have it. But it might be that that the other two are just down the road a piece for you.

      Of course, if you had a holodeck, you could have all three, and at the same time! 😉

  5. Long life, good health, much love.

  6. I could ditto that! … or Mary’s ! …

  7. Baino says:

    Fountain of youth, transporter definitely, happiness. God I sound like an ageing beauty queen. All I needed to add was world peace.

Leave a Reply

