Letting It All Hang Out

The press has been filled with stories both dire and funny about the new full-body scanners in use at airports around the US.  Many are outraged, while others just shrug and pass through.  “What’s one more indignity in a world filled with far worse?”

I haven’t flown since all this began, so I don’t know how I’ll feel when faced with my first electronic disrobing. But I like to think that I will be among the shruggers.  I mean, really, what have I got to hide?  It doesn’t take much of an imagination to picture everything I’ve taken care to conceal beneath these jeans and t-shirt.  About the only thing you might miss in your mental portrait of me, if you cared to paint one, is a rather spectacular scar.

But if the press is to be believed (and there’s a questionable premise), the cries of outrage are ringing loud in airports all around us.  There was even a “National Opt-Out Day.”

Perhaps due to the “success” of National Opt-Out Day, the TSA at some airports are allowing passengers to opt out of passing through the revealing scanners.  Of course, many would find the alternative even worse.  One passenger’s reaction has led to a national catch phrase: “Don’t touch my junk!”

Since we live among many critical thinkers, there are great minds around us hard at work to find a solution that will make everyone happy.

A woman flying out of LAX seems to have found a solution that worked for her.  I bet it worked just fine for some of the agents at security, too.

My favorite of the creative solutions popping up is the Flying Pasties.

I mean, how clever is that?

Here’s what CNN (Griping over Groping) has to say about all this (and very humorously, I might add).

It’s all just so amusing.  Some are even able to see the humor despite their trepidations about their next trip aboard a plane.  A reporter from Cox Newspapers cited this little ditty, posted by someone on Facebook:

“Twas the night before T-Day and I lay in my bed,
Filled not with thanks but rather great dread.
Tomorrow I fly and what lies ahead?
A scanner that makes me glow in the dark?
A feel-up from some creepy guy on a lark?
It used to be shoes, your purse and your belt,
Now its your boobs and thighs that are felt.
Oh what a strange different world that we live in,
But in spite of it all, have a happy Thanksgivin’.”

Sounds like this lady may not land on the side of the shruggers.

But as someone said when this topic came up at Thanksgiving dinner, “Heck, they can grope me all they want. It might be the most fun I’ve had in months.”

This entry was posted in Musing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Letting It All Hang Out

  1. souldipper says:

    Oh boy, Patti, I certainly know a job that I won’t be applying for. Ever.

    • PattiKen says:

      Hi, Amy. Nice to see you.

      Yeah, you and me both. Travelers are grousing about being groped. But what about the poor agents doing the groping? Oh, yuck.

      And now that I’ve thought of it, can you just imagine some of the training sessions?

  2. They even have a candy ad now where 2 female TSA’ers tell Roger Federer they have to do a strip search on him and confiscate his candy. Too close to truth!

  3. Great job on the post, Patti.

    No matter which side of the grope one is on, it’s all distastful and over the top.

Leave a Reply

