Yesterday was the anniversary of my first real blog post.  I had been making sporadic entries on the first blog I started (Snippets) in 2007 to capture some of those little bits of conversation we overhear out in the world.  Then, a year ago, I accepted the challenge of the first creative writing meme I found, and I was off and running.  At the time, I wondered if I’d ever be able to keep it going, but as I said to a blogging buddy recently, I am a talker at heart, so no worries.

During this first year of blogging, I’ve made a few interesting observations.  Here are five that surprised me.

1.  Blogging is addictive.  And I’m hooked.  Should I be joining BA (Bloggers Anonymous)?

2.  I’m keeping some pretty great company.  I’m so taken by how warm and supportive people are.  I’ve said this before, but it amazes me to think of so many complete strangers, people I likely will never meet, as friends.  It reminds me of the way people used to (and maybe some still do) have pen pals with whom they exchanged letters and developed close relationships, even though they would never meet.

3.  The world is small.  It staggers my mind that people from all over the globe visit my blog and I theirs.  We each share our culture and our history, sometimes deliberately, sometimes simply by virtue of our posts and comments.  Like most of you, I’ve had visits from people on every continent except Antarctica. I won’t hold my breath on that one, since it has no permanent residents. Still, Wikipedia tells me that there are 1,000-5,000 people there on research expeditions, depending on the time of year, so who knows?   Nah, those folks are probably too busy just trying to stay warm.

4.  There is one characteristic of this blogging thing I find especially interesting. There is something about it that makes us (or maybe I should say “lets us”) bare our souls, on the Internet, for heaven’s sake, to be read by who knows how many strangers.  Maybe it’s the fact that we probably will never meet these people. Or perhaps it’s the relative anonymity of it.  I don’t know, but it’s a very strange phenomenon, I think.

5.  I suppose that this is a not-surprising outgrowth of Number 4, but romance sometimes happens out here in cyberspace.  Through reading posts, exchanging e-mail, and maybe chatting via Skype, people fall for someone they’ve never met.  Is it real?  Who knows? Many people have married someone they met on an online dating service.  I’ve got to believe that a blogger (at least those I read) reveals more of his or her genuine self that someone registered on a dating service.

So there it is.  I often think I’m spending far too much time in this brave new world (the addiction, remember?).  But it’s not as if I’m not learning something.  My world view is expanded.  For that matter, I think that now I’m really looking at things in my own backyard too.  I’m reading much more poetry than ever before.  I’m finding inspiration in strange places.  And I know my writing is improving, which was why I got into this in the first place.

I’m reminded of Commissioner Dreyfus, driven mad by Inspector Clousseau:   “Every day and in every way, I’m getting better and better.”

Me too.

This entry was posted in Musing. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to

  1. Titanium says:

    Happy, Happy Bloggoversary! You’ve made the interwebs a better place to be, just by being here. Who knows? Perhaps we will meet in the 3D world someday; until then, always know you’ve brightened my world in real time more times and more ways than I can count. So very, very glad that you’re here, Patti.

    • PattiKen says:

      Awww… thank you, dear friend. There have been many benefits to this year in cyberspace. You are one of the best. You fill me with awe. Writer, poet, photographer, mountain climber, mother, wife, friend, and all done with extraordinary talent, power and grace. I want to be just like you when I grow up.

  2. 2zpoint says:

    Time flies when your havin’ fun Right? …just keep writing and we’ll keep smiling at ya!
    …and Yes you do seem like a talker! Have a smile their free! 🙂

    • PattiKen says:

      It does, and I have been having a ball. This year has flown by. Of course, I’m sure that’s entirely a good thing. 🙂

      I suspect this old saying may have been before your time, but my dad used to say I had been vaccinated with a phonograph needle. He knew I was a talker, and wouldn’t be at all surprised that I found so much to say.

  3. souldipper says:

    Happy Third Blogiversary! Take a big bow. I appreciate your being here, Pattiken. As a new blogger, I have enjoyed ‘watching’ you. I feel the same as you about writing. I’m a lover of the written word with no big desire to jump into the publishing world.

    Your observations are so like mine that I feel validated. I am picking up the same good experiences as someone I respect.

    And finally, I take heart that you still find joy, fulfillment and ideas (!) even after three years.

    Guess, in a nutshell, you just simply count in my life! – Amy

  4. JeffScape says:

    Blogging certainly makes for some interesting interactions… And, since I love responding to you point by point, I shall do so again (but only because it’s you).

    1. Personally, I’m kinda tired of it. I won’t be going anywhere, but come 2011, I’ll definitely be a lot more scarce.

    2. Yep. Though (with one possible exception) the best friends I’ve made in life have all been “real world” endeavors.

    3. Yep. It’s very small. And very large. And at the same time. That’s why Earth rocks. And is a rock. And people rock, too. Especially rock bands. And some hip hop artists.

    4. I made a conscious decision not to keep secrets a couple of years ago. Whether in person or via the Internet. But I know what you mean. And, as we’ve discussed, “hiding” revelations here and there can make things interesting for readers.

    5. I’d agree about blogging getting the small talk out of the way. I’ve recommended a certain lonely friend of mine to start a blog. He’s considering it.

  5. Chris G. says:

    Congrats on the anniversary! Definitely a pleasure having you in the blogging community. Keep up the good writing!

  6. ladynyo says:

    happy anniversary! That is Wonderful!

    And you have done something that gladdens my heart.

    Many people have been seriously hurt by the internet (I was one) but you go for the positive, and I think (as long as we by step the sociopaths out there) the blogsphere is a totally wonderful thing. And it restores the world as ‘in our hands’.

    I love your entry and will be back to read!!

    Lady Nyo

    • PattiKen says:

      I’m sorry you have been hurt by the Internet. I guess there are dangers everywhere. Certainly there are people out here who aren’t as nice as they would have us believe, but you have the right idea. Let’s just stay out of their paths if possible, and enjoy those who truly are nice people.

      Thank you for stopping by. I’m glad you liked what you found and plan to come back. The kettle’s always on.

  7. Really astute observations. Yes, it does seem as though the anonymity of the blogosphere makes it easier to share. But then we’re poets…compelled to put it all out there. I’m on my way to SoCal where our IP provider is roadrunner. Maybe I should stop by for a visit…or maybe roadrunner is all over the place. :0) Congrats on sticking with your blog.
    Victoria

    • PattiKen says:

      I’m honored that you include me in that “we’re poets” comment. I think I am more of a writer to whom a poem happens every now and then. It’s mostly out of my control. 😉

      I’m love to meet you, but sadly, my roadrunner is a New England yankee. Not quite as far from SoCal as you can get, but close enough.

      Thanks for the visit, and the congrats. I appreciate it!

  8. Jamie Dedes says:

    Happy blog-o-versary! Thanks for the gifts of your blogs.

    I love blogging too and am surprised and delighted with many of the same things you are. I do think we need balance between the virtual world and the real world. Too much on the computer and folks burn out. That’s to be avoided.

    I think online friendships are just as real and “real” ones and no more fleeting than some real ones are. It is – in effect – like having pen pals, but there much more of a creative and artistic apect to it that was lacking in the combersome – though charming – days of letter writing.

    Blog on, my friend.

  9. shanellis says:

    Happy anniversary sweetie, we all have our obsessions. Writing is mine and as we all do we hope to find release in that we enjoy.

    Thoroughly enjoyed reading and relating to your post.

    Shan @Awdures

  10. Happy anniversary. I count you as one of those blog friends I’ve met along the way and cherish. I hope you do too.

    • PattiKen says:

      Thank you, Mary. Indeed I do cherish your friendship. You were one of the first people I “met” out here with whom I felt a connection. You are a kindred spirit.

  11. tracyhsays says:

    Happy Anniversary! 🙂

    I could not agree more with your five observations. It’s so amazing to look back on some of the stuff I have written and realize just how much true emotion was revealed to the entire world…things never verbalized to another person, but displayed to a sea of strangers, and a few very good blogger friends 😉

  12. moondustwriter says:

    Well I personally hope we meet. you are Too wonderful a person not to. But if we never do my dear, I’ve cherished the moments – the laughs the tears that you evoke and we share over that cyber wine
    Happy One year I just hit mine too a week or two ago and always believed I would be a lone voice with one or two followers – how wrong I was

    Love from the Moon

Leave a Reply

