RIP

Rest in Peace, Sony Walkman.

Sony Walkman
1979-2010

 

This entry was posted in Musing, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to RIP

  1. JeffScape says:

    Good riddance!

    The only tape decks I miss are Nagras.

    • PattiKen says:

      Yeah, they were no great shakes. Still, they were a harbinger of the movement to portability. They were the first portable cassette playback machines that actually worked. It was the start of a Dick Tracy sort of world.

  2. Helen says:

    Aww, I loved the walkman because it also had an FM radio. My iPod shuffle doesn’t and I can’t afford the fancy shcmancy one.

    • PattiKen says:

      Hey, welcome. See, my thing was that living out in East Overshoe, getting an FM signal was nigh on to impossible. The Walkman gave me a way to carry good music and books on tape with me. But Jeff is right. The sound was never great. I like my iPod Shuffle much better.

  3. Artswebshow says:

    i remember these.
    Oh, i’m not a kid anymore, how sad. lol

  4. moondustwriter says:

    oh that’s sad. I was in Japan when they first came out so many of the sailors were buying them. The sound was so amazing

    an era gone by

  5. tracyhsays says:

    This reminds me of my Uncle Jasper. I once was asked about him by an out-of-town cousin at a family reunion; I said “I think he might have died”…later that day a car pulls up, and out steps Uncle Jasper, alive and well. I thought the Walkman was gone for years…I wonder if Uncle Jasper has one…

  6. Jamie Dedes says:

    it makes me feel old just to look at it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

