The Case of the Empty Cupboard

One day, I opened the cupboard and found… nothing.  Either the dishwasher had joined forces with my sock-eating dryer or…

(cue music) I had been robbed.

I waited until I was sure the most likely suspect would not be home, and I could sneak unnoticed into his local crib to investigate.  Opening the door to his hideout, I slipped in and tossed the place.

Ah ha!  Mystery solved.

I got an evidence bin (otherwise known as a laundry basket), and filled it to the top with my discovery.  I was careful not to touch some of the obviously older artifacts or the flora and fauna that had taken up residence on them, just in case CSI needed to process any trace found there.

I took everything back to the lab (that’s “kitchen” to you), loaded it all into the centrifuge dishwasher, ran it through twice and then put it away.  I congratulated myself on a job well done, another mystery solved.

Later, the clack and clamber of teenage feet clomping on the stairs told me that the perp had returned.  I braced myself, ready to deny the coming charges that I had violated his Fourth Amendment rights by entering his premises without benefit of warrant.

I didn’t wait long.  He thundered into the kitchen and pointed at me accusingly.

“You threw away my mold farm!”

This entry was posted in Flashback. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Case of the Empty Cupboard

  1. JeffScape says:

    HAHAHAHAHA! Should’a used this one for Confession!

  2. Tara R. says:

    I don’t know what I did to deserve it, but my teen has never been one to take food into his room.

    • PattiKen says:

      Are you sure you teen hasn’t been replaced by an alien or something? I thought ALL teenagers took food to their rooms. Especially the boys, who seem to need to eat 24-7.

  3. This actually made me nostalgic for my daughter’s teenage years. She was a take the food to her room kind of gal, too. We did have some interesting experiments in the process and some parental angst and drama. But now? I miss it all!

  4. buttercup600 says:

    I agree with the boys eating 24/7…my oh my…and it never stops. Good one my friend, this one resonates!! oxoxox

  5. Jamie Dedes says:

    Remember the song “Kids, I don’t know what’s wrong with these kids today.” Paul Lund, Bye Bye Birdie??? Somehow this reminds me of that.

    Never went through this, though the 24/7 grazing was an experience. What can you say to a growing … and growing … and growing boy. Fine. Eat. Just clean up after yourself. 🙂

    Happy memories …

    You’ve such a good sense of humor, Patti.

Leave a Reply

