Aren’t you mad yet?

One of our favorite bloggers, Jamie at Musings by Moonlight, posted this very important and moving video today.  Thank you, Jamie.

Bullying has somehow become a popular pastime in our schools.  I remember nothing even remotely like it from my school days (which were admittedly quite a while ago).   Sure, there might be one kid who was bigger than most known as the class bully in grade school.  His bullying usually consisted of taking a smaller kid’s lunch money or pushing a weaker kid around on the playground.  As I recall, retribution was usually swift and compelling.  By high school, there was none of that.

Today, it seems we are reading of more and more children and teenagers pushed to the point of desperation by the persistent cruelty of their peers.  How did this happen?  When did kids become so mean?  Why have they become so mean?

It has to stop.  We adults (parents, teachers, school administrators, law enforcement, and communities) must stop it.  We don’t allow weapons in schools. We don’t allow drugs or alcohol.  We know that those things kill.  Well, bullying kills too.

Talk to your kids. Talk to their teachers. Go to Parent-Teacher Organization meetings and Town Council meetings and tell them that this has to stop.

This entry was posted in Bullying. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Aren’t you mad yet?

  1. brian says:

    amen. this is about the 8th or 9th post i read about this today…it seems to be on all our minds…

  2. 2zpoint says:

    I think that it has probably always existed to some degree but it is now amplified due to communication. Too much communication just magnifies and amplifies everything. I know one thing, as a kid it would be offensive for another boy to want to look at my butt( still is) but the problem is that kids are texting and a fleeting thought goes around 1000 phones in a minute! A kid(guy) sees something like a boy is checking out his butt and I don’t care who sent it or what… that kid’s gonna get mad and he’s probably gonna hate that other kid just from the accusation. Mean little trouble makers that like to see fights can now stir up stuff like this anonymously without suffering any consequences!

    • PattiKen says:

      Thank you for such a thoughtful response. You’re right about the way things spread so quickly thanks to cell phones and the Internet. But what worries me is the kids themselves. I hope you’re wrong about a boy hating another who happens to be checking him out. He wouldn’t hate a girl for checking him out, even if he didn’t like the girl much. Turning another child’s life into a living hell seems like such an extreme response. You can imagine a person like that having some serious issues with anger management and bigotry in adult life.

  3. Jamie Dedes says:

    I seem to remember hazing getting out of hand with college kids; but, don’t remember much at the lower levels. However, my son and daughter-in-law disagree with me. We’re are a scant twenty-years apart. They think there were problems, and I don’t remember them because I was in parochial school not public. I think you went to parochial school too, Patti.

    They remember tough kids in their school experience, though I don’t think that tough. Was I unconscious when they were in school? I don’t remember it being so bad in my day or theirs that we had suicides happening.

    You know I remember we were not allowed to talk in the dorms or in the halls between classes, which may speak to 2zPoint’s points. Our time and our acivities were stricktly monitored. And, we were raised with certain ideals about respecting ourselves and others. I sent my son to public school because I thought it was all a bit too narrow in some ways.

    Thanks for reblogging, Patti. We can only blog, pray, and pontificate.

    • PattiKen says:

      Yes, I did go to parochial school through eighth grade, and those nuns were fearsome. I can only imagine the fate that would befall a bully. But I did go to a big public high school. My graduating class was 500 strong. There were 2,000 kids in the school, since 9th grade was part of high school then.

      I remember no bullying at all! Sure there were all the usual cliques: popular kids, jocks, nerds, brainiacs, etc. But none were mean to the others. And trust me, I was FAR from popular.

      I don’t remember bullying when my kids were in school, but I was pretty swamped with life then. I’ve e-mailed and asked them. I’ll report back after I hear what they have to say.

  4. mairmusic says:

    I’m glad this video is going the cycle– I’ve received it from so many sources. It is so much more worthy than most of what gets passed around.

    • PattiKen says:

      Yes, it is. I just hope that we will see some changes. After the Phoebe Prince tragedy, Massachusetts passed a bullying law. My daughter is a teacher. She tells me that they are required by law to take action and report bullying.

  5. Moondustwriter says:

    Sadly I think teachers and leaders can also encourage it. My daughter this week sat in a class (high school) and the teacher made fun of an autistic student who had just had a melt down because of an assignment.
    What have the students just learned???

    Does not please a parent in the least

    hugs from the moon

    • Lisa says:

      As a special educator, a mother, and a student, I really feel that you and your daughter should complain. This type of behavior is unacceptable! Write a letter to the PTA, principal, superintendent, whatever the licencing agency is in your state (in MA it’s the DESE) and anyone else you think will take an active roll in training the teachers. You don’t have to specifically names names, if you don’t feel comfortable with it, but let your community know… THIS HAS TO STOP! It’s up to society to say, “enough is enough.”

      Lisa

      PS Mom (Patti), you were right, I’m furious!

    • PattiKen says:

      Leslie,

      I thought I’d let the family expert answer this for me. i couldn’t have said it better. I’m sorry your daughter and her classmates had to witness such crass lack of understanding and consideration. but I’m not worried about what your daughter is learning. You are her mom. That says it all.

      xoxo

Leave a Reply

