She Speaks

You have all read my posts in which I told you about my daughter Lisa and her fight against breast cancer.  She is The Superhero I wrote about.

Today, she speaks for herself.   These are her words.

Mine Is Not To Ask Why

2010

This month, a little more than most, I think about what I have been through, what I have lost, and what I have gained. I never ask, “why me?” I am always grateful it was me. I had my mother’s strength and my father’s stubbornness to get me through it. Someone else may not have been a lucky as I was…am.

October is National Breast Cancer Awareness Month, but for some of us, those like me and our families, every month is breast cancer awareness month.   When you hear those words, “you have cancer,” you are never more aware.   That feeling, the awareness, it never leaves you.

Tonight I sat with my daughter and watched a speech by Kelly Corrigan (breast cancer survivor, author) posted by my mother.  Emily and I held hands and cried together, grateful for what we have gained and all that we are lucky to still have…each other.

During Treatment 2006

Sure, I have been through what some call “Hell,” but I never saw it that way. For me, it was just a journey to get to the other side.  Just one more thing to get past and then move on.  People sometimes say to me, “so-and-so died of cancer.”  My only response can ever be, “I’m not doing that.”  For me, having treatment and getting on with my life was the only choice. IS the only choice. Surviving is the ONLY choice.

Now, I use my experiences to make others aware of just how a diagnosis of cancer can change your life, even if it’s not you who is diagnosed.   My cancer affected everyone around me: my parents, my husband, my little boys, and my daughter.  Now I spread the word through my writing, my big mouth, and by walking the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer every year and raising money for research and other programs.

Mine is to do.

This entry was posted in Breast Cancer, Lisa. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to She Speaks

  1. souldipper says:

    Well done, beautiful lady. Your attitude is such a great example. May all the blessings continue with same grace you seem to have accepted the ones already given.

  2. PattiKen says:

    Thank you for your good wishes for Lisa. I know she will be moved.

    • Lisa says:

      I love everything I read what people write to me. It’s so touching to have so many people think so highly of me… and you, Mom. The bloggers are so thoughtful and generous with their words. “Moved” is an understatement.

      Thank you all so much!

  3. buttercup600 says:

    As I read these words, I had goosebumps …you truly are a great inspiration and a blessing to all of us. I see the glow of love in your eyes, a wiseness beyond your time. I am honored to be able to write to you, to know you and your mother. Thanks for making me feel blessed today my dear Lisa..and thanks for posting here Patti. I send you all much love and let our light shine…always!! Big hugs xxx

  4. mairmusic says:

    Your recent posts have been so inspiring and supportive. We all know so many who have gone through this.

  5. Jamie Dedes says:

    I am so glad to hear from you and grateful to your mom and you as well for this post. The diagnosis of any potentiall fatal condition can only be handled in the way you describe, living every day and not throwing good time after bad, reaching out to help and encourage others, collaborating as a family … these are key. You’re mom is right: you are a superhero.

    Congratulations! Live. Love. Laugh. … and hug your children.

  6. Pingback: And now, we pause our regular programming for some shameless bragging | PattiKen and the Muses – Home Away from Home

Leave a Reply

