“Do not mistake a goat’s beard for a fine stallions tail.”*

(* Irish Saying)

Humorist Dave Barry once said, “One day soon the Gillette company will announce the development of a razor that, thanks to a computer microchip, can actually travel ahead in time and shave beard hairs that don’t even exist yet.”

Shows what he knows.

I remember when the objective of shaving was to get a close shave.  Gillette and other  razors based all their advertising on how well they could do the job.

Soon, electric shavers jumped on the bandwagon, bragging they could deliver a close shave just as well.

So what happened, guys?  Why are so many of you walking around looking like you’ve just come off a three-day bender?

Dave Barry’s fantasy razor has yet to become a reality.  But Braun (and I doubt they are alone) has a razor that will shave off everything but the three-day growth.  I’ve discovered that there’s even a name for this look, “designer stubble.”  Criminy.

From all evidence in movies and on TV, this type of razor has been a huge marketing success.  One sees portrayals of doctors, lawyers, and cops all sporting the look.  Even the occasional military guy on TV somehow gets past inspection with stubble.  I’m all for creative license, but this just stretches credulity a little to far for me.

I’m not sure what I’m missing.  This is sexy?  Dang, I must be getting old.

This entry was posted in Musing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Do not mistake a goat’s beard for a fine stallions tail.”*

  1. souldipper says:

    Ouch! Kisses that hurt.

  2. Jamie Dedes says:

    … yeah! About as sexy as “designer stubble” on a woman’s legs! 🙂

    You’re too funny sometimes, my friend! Such delight …

  3. tracyhsays says:

    I can answer this one, because I lived it…and still do to a certain degree. Miami Vice…the coolest TV show in history…Don Johnson, aka Sonny Crockett/Sonny Burnett. 1984-85, I was 21 and started wearing linen sport jackets, loose-fitting pleated pants, and no socks…and I lost my razor for about 5 days a week. I still wear a beard (mostly because my face if fat and round) 🙂 , I go sockless as much as possible, if I could, I would wear nothing but sandals for the rest of my life. I watch the show now, and by today’s standards it’s bad…sometimes, really bad, but the style is still around in one way or another. Don’t even get me started on the guns Sonny carried, or the cars he drove, or the cool wristwatch. Those black “Ferraris” he drove were built just a few miles from my home. I said too much, but I think that’s where the designer stubble came from.
    One more thing…
    Men’s razors are a joke…they tell us that the new 5 blade oscillating head will drag that stubborn stubble out by the root and snicker-snack your face is as smooth as a baby’s butt…NOT! Make a razor that can make my neck stubble-free and you have something. 🙂

Leave a Reply

