A ‘love’ Story, Part 5

This is a continuation of my previous posts:

I hope you’ll read them first.

Sometimes a Woman’s Gotta Do What a Woman’s Gotta Do

The plane landed and we gathered up our stuff, retrieved our carry-on bags from the overhead, and headed into the terminal at Logan Airport.  And the end of the jetway, we did the “nice to meet you, have a good night” thing you have probably done scores of times in your life, especially if you travel on business.  And then we each headed through the terminal toward the street, he obliviously and I with great disappointment.

We walked side-by-side for a while, apparently going in the same general direction.

Oh, what the hell.  “Hold on a minute,” I said to him.  I reached into my jacket pocket and retrieved the business card I had put there (just in case, you know).  I handed it to him, and said “Call me!”

He paled a little, and said, oh, so eloquently, “Uh, okay.”

Then we smiled at each other sort of politely, the way you do in a awkward moment, and continued on our way.

When we reached the curb outside the terminal, it became obvious we were parked in the same lot at the airport. We were both waiting at the Park N Fly pick-up spot.  We laughed at the coincidence.  He set down his bag, and rummaged through his briefcase.  He came up with a business card of his own, and handed it to me.  Well, to be honest, he sort of thrust it at me.  “Here.”

Then we climbed aboard the shuttle bus and rode in slightly nervous silence to the parking lot and our cars.  We said goodbye again, promised to talk soon, and went to our separate ways.  As I head out of the lot toward the Sumner Tunnel, I thought myself, well, nothing ventured, nothing gained.

Totally forgetting I was sick, I drove home smiling and wondering when I’d hear from him.

– to be continued –

Tune in tomorrow.  Same time, same channel.

This entry was posted in Musing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A ‘love’ Story, Part 5

  1. Titanium says:

    This series of yours is so delightful… like exquisite little bits of an elegant entree… can’t wait for the next installment! 🙂

    • PattiKen says:

      Thank you, my friend! There have been so many poems from the bloggers about Love (capital L) recently. Many people over the years have told me that this story gives them hope. I decided I’d try to send a little hope out there into the blogoshere. I think there are people who need it.

  2. Patti, Where have I been? How long have you had this other blog and why didn’t I know about it? And I LOVE it! No surprise there though; you’re a great writer. But this series on love is priceless. I’ve thought for some time that there is not enough just real love stories about real, older couples in love. And, then, here’s one and I’m enjoying it and, just like Titanium, can’t wait for the next installment. Happening on my former stomping grounds. Does this wordpress not have followers?

    • PattiKen says:

      Welcome! I’m glad you find my little pied-a-terre.

      I started this in July. Some folks had encouraged me to make the move to WordPress, and since I have had a few problems with Blogger (though nowhere near as many as some people, I guess), I came to check it out. It did seem pretty cool, but the thought of closing down Blogger and moving was just too daunting to consider. So I decided to keep both, using WordPress for the ramblings of my mind. The poetry and creative writing bits will stay on Blogger.

      I have to admit, I’m having a great time with this one. I have not done much promotion, and am just letting the thing develop on its own. I’m still new to WordPress, so I have no idea if there’s a place for “Followers” the way there is on Blogger. It looks like people can “subscribe” via a button on the right side bar, though. And there do seem to be a few subscribers. I’m very grateful to see them.

      I’m so glad you like my series on love. Stay tuned for the next installment!

  3. Jamie Dedes says:

    Oh, this promises to be a nice little box of bon bons …

    • Jamie Dedes says:

      After reading the first four: I have to wait until tomorrow? … you probably like pinning flys to paper and playing with them … See you tomorrow, Patti! 🙂

      This is absolutely delightful. Enjoying much … Blog on ….

      • PattiKen says:

        Well, you know Part 5 is up, since you are here. Part 6 comes tomorrow.

        I remember a woman in my childhood listening to Stella Dallas (sponsored by Oxydol – thus “soap opera”) on the radio everyday. Consider this homage.

        (cue dramatic music)

        “Whatever will happen?! Will he?! Should she?! Tune in tomorrow!”

  4. souldipper says:

    I’m in the car with you, driving to your place, PattiKen!

Leave a Reply

