Unexpected Consequences

Today’s Boston Globe featured a story that caught my eye. Here is an excerpt:

“Petroleum-eating bacteria, which had dined for eons on oil seeping naturally through the sea floor, proliferated in the cloud of oil that drifted underwater for months after the April 20 accident. They not only out-competed fellow microbes, they each ramped up their own internal metabolic machinery to digest the oil as efficiently as possible.”

Scientists credit these microbes with eating the “mile-wide, 650-foot high cloud of oil that drifted for months 4,000 feet below the surface.”

Huh. Well, that’s good news.  But with just a tiny stretch of the imagination, it could also be bad news.  What if…

This entry was posted in Musing. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Unexpected Consequences

  1. Snowcatcher says:

    I’ve seen you so often on Element 22; I’m glad I finally had the time to get to “know” you. This has been fun. This is a hilarious post! And yet so sad…

  2. suzicate says:

    Too funny…I’m not going to watch any sci-fi after reading this and looking at the pic at the bottom ‘cuz I might have nightmares! They’ll probably make a movie about it!!!

  3. PattiKen says:

    Snowcatcher: I agree, the whole Gulf disaster is really sad, especially for the poor birds and sea creatures. Maybe the Oil Spill Monster will avenge them. Watch out, BP!

    Suzicate: A movie! Cool. We could call it BP vs. The Oil Spill Monster. Guess who would win?

  4. Jamie Dedes says:

    Oddly reminiscent of Godzilla …

  5. PattiKen says:

    Jamie, right you are. If Godzilla were risen from the dead (he is dead, isn’t he???) in the form of an oily, slimy creature from “The Black Lagoon Gulf,” this would be he.

  6. Jingle says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/08/27/friendship-means-a-world-2-me/
    pick three awards from my post,
    pass them to 1 to 10 blogging friends with whom you believe that they deserve them.
    have fun!
    Take good care.

  7. Jingle says:

    inspirational information,
    thanks for sharing!

  8. revbillcook says:

    Love it! I have read through a number of your posts. I enjoy your perspective on things and your style. I admire the way that your writing flows so naturally while creating the images and highlighting your themes, and not drawing attention to itself. A pleasure to read. – Bill

    • PattiKen says:

      Thank you for coming,, Bill. You are very kind.

    • PattiKen says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Bill. I mostly write the way I speak, with asides, digressions, sarcasm and all the other warts showing. I’m so glad it works for you. Sometimes reading the creative writing of these talented people out here, I am awed by the -what?- more formal language (?) used in their pieces. When I try to write that way, (to myself, anyway) I sound like a 4-year-old reciting Shakespeare. So I just talk. Thank you for visiting. I hope you’ll come back.

Leave a Reply

