The Talent Gene

Today’s newspaper ran an ad announcing that actress Tyne Daly (who starred as Detective Lacey years ago in the series Cagney and Lacey)  was going to appear locally to sing.  This is yet one more confirmation of what I have come to think of as “the talent gene.”

Have you noticed? You know performers for their acting or music.  And then you discover all the other skills they have.  For example, consider Catherine Zeta Jones.  She is an actress, and nearly every reference to her identifies her as an actress.  But then came Chicago, in which she not only acted, but also sang and danced (while pregnant, but that’s neither here nor there).   Harry Connick, Jr.?  Singer, right?  But he acts, composes and plays the piano as well.  Hugh Laurie?  He’s the actor in the TV series House, but he also plays the piano, guitar, drums, harmonica and saxophone.  Oh, and can drop his British accent at will.   Carly Simon is a wonderful singer who has published several children books.  How about Steve Martin?  Comedian, yes. But also an actor, playwright, pianist, banjo player, and juggler.  Tony Bennett not only sings, but has a flourishing career as a painter.

The entertainment industry is chock-a-block with these multi-talented folks.   They’ve all been blessed with the talent gene.

And then there are the folks like you and me.  I can’t carry a tune to save me, play no instruments, and not only can I not dance, I have trouble with the whole walking thing.

Oh, wait, maybe you can sing, dance, and play three instruments.  I hate you.

***************************

Drop in to see me at my place across town, PattiKen and The Muses, which is decorated with a bit of short (really short) fiction, poetry and photography.  I’d love to see you.

This entry was posted in Musing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Talent Gene

  1. Jamie Dedes says:

    Ah, but you can write … and everytime I visit here you make me smile … no small talent that and much appreciated …

    I can’t sing either, but I can snore. Does that count?

  2. brian says:

    smiles. maybe just a little. this is the first time i have shown my ‘art’ in years…it is fun playing with the kids in class…

Leave a Reply

