And away we go…

Before I begin saying what I came to say, I must comment on what an apt analogy I made when I referred to this as my little getaway retreat.

When I came today for my first little break from creative writing, I fumbled about as anyone would at a new and somewhat unfamiliar place.  Finally I found the key and got the door open, and then… “where’s the damn light switch?”  It took me a couple of minutes to find the link to “New Post.”  Doh!

I suspect that with each visit, I’ll discover some new feature here, exclaiming, “Oh, wow! Look at this! I didn’t know we had one of those!”  What fun!

And now, on to a little R&R

(oh, look! a kitchen sink!)

**************************************

Falling into the Past

The dog days of August are on the wane.  I just flipped the mid-mark date page on my desk calendar, and as I did, I was carried back (as I am every year) to the feelings of so many years ago.  Because as August draws to a close, so does summer.  And that means school starts soon.

Oh, don’t misunderstand; today’s writer is far (far!) from going back to school in the Fall.  But deep inside, there lives a girl who still feels the surge of back-to-school emotions.  I have to go shopping; I want a new outfit for the first day. Who will my classmates be? Will they like me?  I really need a totally cool outfit!  I need pens and pencils, and paper too.  And some notebooks.  I love new school supplies, all fresh and clean and just waiting to be filled with new thoughts. All these feeling come rushing in with the approach of September, like a response to some silent Pavlovian bell.

The fall has also always brought with it anticipation of new adventures.  Something about the resplendent color here in New England, falling leaves crunching underfoot and the smell of wood smoke in the air speak of pumpkins and trick-or-treat, turkey and homecoming games.

Yes, autumn, with its feelings of being young and rarin’ to go, challenges spring as my favorite time of year.  It’s not here yet, but I can feel it coming.  Maybe I’ll go buy some school supplies.

***************************************

I hope you’ll drop in over at my other place, PattiKen and the Muses.  I’d love to see you.

This entry was posted in Musing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

